Stick Your Face in an Air Conditioner and Deal With It!

Window air conditioner, from left side

Maybe that should be the slogan for 30 something (ok closer to 40, I know) women who have been thrust into menopause.  Kind of like the equivalent “Put on your big girl panties…”

Estrogen loss and menopause.  Two more things I can thank Cowden’s Syndrome for, as I learn all the side effects connected with both – one at a time.   At least I can relate to… well, not really ANYONE in my age bracket.  But that’s Ok… I am getting used to it.

Fortunately it hasn’t been THAT bad yet, but I have found myself a little sweatier than normal, and I have been known to stick my face in an air conditioner lately while throwing an ice cube down my back.

I am not one to complain too much, but really, the reality of this one took a little time to catch up with me.

Yeah, I know it had to go.  Blah, Blah Blah… Cowden’s Syndrome, uterine cancer, suspicious polyp.  I get it.  Oh, and your ovaries are way too big, too many cysts, let’s take those too.  Sure – why not?

Nothing would have changed if I had asked all the questions in the world.  It had to be done.  And I am learning sometimes it is better not to know everything at once.

So, I am hearing words like calcium supplements, bone scan, and osteoporosis, while I have friends my age going for 20 week ultrasounds.  Don’t misunderstand me.  I never wanted another baby – but it just seems wrong.  Like I have warped into a different reality.

That’s what these last few months feel like sometimes.  A bad sci-fi movie.  I am the girl who gets all her body parts cut out, one or two or three at a time. 

I wonder how it ends. 

And, most importantly I hope the movie theater has air conditioning.  It’s HOT in here!

Leave a comment